Course Projects

We offer projects to undergraduate students looking for an artificial intelligence-related subject for their course project.

Game AI for StarCraft II

DeepMind (a Google affiliate) has just provided an API to program artificial intelligences (AI) for the game StarCraft II . The Facebook’s AI lab had recently done the same. The game StarCraft II is very complex. The challenges of programming an AI for StarCraft reflect well the problems encountered in real life, especially the possibility to understand the intent of other players, be they partners (teammates) or competitors (opponents). There is also, of course, the capacity to understand rapidly complex situations and to take wise decisions within very little time.

PLANIART lab (Université de Sherbrooke) has been working on a StarCraft AI for years. Many graduate students have advanced the matter significantly by publishing their results in internationally famous conferences, as AAAI and IJCAI. A group of undergraduate students, supervised by Master students, came out second in a world tournament on StarCraft AI in 2010 .

The goal of this project is to offer to students the possibility to practice programming of artificial intelligences, using StarCraft II as testbed. They will be able to further develop the notions learned in IFT615 and IFT608/IFT702. Students will get the chance to experiment deep learning algorithms to implement the StarCraft AI.

Depending on the number of interested students, the project could be reorganized in several groups, each assigned to specific tasks, for a common goal: the more advanced StarCraft AI possible. Interested students are welcomed to push the work further to enter international StarCraft AI contests.

This project will be co-supervised by Mariane Maynard (Master student) and Froduald Kabanza (professor).

Number of positions: 1 to 12 people
Workload: 135 to 400 hours per student
Assets:
  • Knowledge of real-time strategy games, especially StarCraft
  • Programming experience in Python

Examples of past projects

Available projects

Cours-projet

Nous offrons des projets aux étudiants du 1er cycle cherchant un sujet relié à l'intelligence artificielle pour leurs cours-projet.

Intelligence Artificielle pour StarCraft II

DeepMind (une filiale de Google) vient de publier une plateforme permettant de programmer une intelligence artificielle pour le jeu StarCraft II. Le laboratoire d’IA de Facebook en avait fait récemment de même. Le jeu StarCraft II est d’une très grande complexité. Les défis pour programmer une intelligence artificielle pour StarCraft reflètent bien les problèmes rencontrées dans la vie courante, notamment la possibilité de comprendre les intentions des autres, que ce soit des partenaires (co-équipiers) ou des compétiteurs (joueurs adverses). Il y a aussi bien entendu la capacité de comprendre rapidement une situation complexe et de prendre des décisions judicieuses dans des délais très courts.

Le Laboratoire PLANIART de l’Université de Sherbrooke travaille sur l’IA de StarCraft depuis des années. Plusieurs étudiants gradués ont fait progressé le sujet de façon significative en publiant leurs résultats dans des conférences de renommée mondiale, telle que AAAI et IJCAI. Un groupe d’étudiants du baccalauréat, encadré par des étudiants en maîtrise, est sorti deuxième d'un tournoi mondial sur l'IA de StarCraft en 2010.

Le but de ce projet est de permettre aux étudiants de mettre en pratique la programmation de l’intelligence artificielle, en se servant de StarCraft II comme banc d’essai. Ils pourront pousser plus loin les concepts appris dans les cours IFT615, IFT608/IFT702. Les étudiants vont pouvoir expérimenter des algorithmes d’apprentissage profond pour développer l’IA de StarCraft.

Dépendamment du nombre d’étudiants intéressés, le projet va être divisé en plusieurs groupes, chacun avec des tâches bien précises, pour un but commun : une IA de StarCraft la plus avancée possible. Les étudiants intéressés seront encouragés à pousser le travail plus loin, pour participer à des compétitions internationales d’IA pour StarCraft.

Ce projet sera co-supervisé par Mariane Maynard (étudiante en maîtrise) et Froduald Kabanza (professeur).

Nombre de postes : 1 à 12 personnes
Charge : 135 à 400 heures par personne
Atouts :
  • Connaissance des jeux de stratégie temps réel, en particulier du jeu StarCraft
  • Expérience de programmation en Python

Exemples de projets antérieurs

Projets disponibles